. Home >> Going to France >> About France >> Geography


Published on December 19, 2013
  • Print
  • Text Size


551,000 sq. km. Largest country in Western Europe (almost one fifth of the total area of the European Union), with a vast maritime zone (exclusive economic zone extending over 11 million sq. km).


- Plains cover two thirds of the total area.
- Principal mountain ranges: the Alps (of which the highest peak, Mont Blanc, rising to 4,807 meters, is the highest mountain in Western Europe), Pyrénées, Jura, Ardennes, Massif Central and Vosges.
- Coastline: Bordered by four bodies of water : North Sea, English Channel, Atlantic Ocean and Mediterranean Sea; France has 5,500 km of coastline.


Three types: Oceanic in the West
Mediterranean in the South
Continental in Central and Eastern France


Farms and forests cover 48 million hectares, i.e. 82% of the total area of France.
- Some 26% of French territory is covered by forests, ranking France third in the European Union for the amount of forestland, behind Sweden and Finland.
- France possesses 136 different kinds of trees - an exceptional diversity for a European country - and the wildlife population is on the rise: in 20 years, the deer population has doubled and the number of roe deer has tripled. In order to conserve and develop France’s natural heritage, the government has established:
- 9 national parks,
- 156 nature reserves,
- 516 designated areas for protected species,
- 429 protected coastal areas,
- France also has 46 regional nature parks covering more than 7% of the country.

€47.7 billion is allocated to the protection of the environment - €755.00 per inhabitant. Three quarters of this goes on waste water management and waste disposal. France is party to many international treaties and conventions concerning the environment, among them United Nations agreements on climate, biodiversity and desertification.

More information at www.environnement.gouv.fr


With 65,4 million inhabitants (as of January 2012; source: National Institute for Statistics and Economic Studies), France ranks second among the most populated countries in Europe.

Administrative organization

The French Republic comprises:
Metropolitan France, divided into 22 regions and subdivided into 96 departments,

- Five overseas departments (DOM) : Guadeloupe, Martinique, Guyana (French Guiana), Reunion, and Mayotte since March 2011,

- Five overseas collectivities (COM) : French Polynesia, St Pierre and Miquelon, Wallis and Futuna, Saint Martin, Saint Bartelemy,

- Several territories with a special status : New Caledonia, Clipperton and the French Southern and Antarctic Territories.

More information at www.outre-mer.gouv.fr.

top of the page
Visit FrenchFoodInTheUs.org
Visit Green France